Summer Meisner Intensive Interview with Sara Kohler – Maggie Flanigan Studio – Phone 917 789 1599

Summer Meisner Intensive Interview with Sara Kohler - Maggie Flanigan Studio - Phone 917 789 1599In this interview with Katie, Sara Kohler talks about the Meisner Summer Intensive at the Maggie Flanigan Studio.

The Meisner Intensive provides pupils together with the chance to experience what it means to train as a professional performer. In this interview, Sara talks about her experience in the six-week summer intensive and how it was different than what she formerly thought the professional training was like.

Q: What did you believe acting training was before you began the Six Week Summer Intensive?

A: I though that training that is acting was a lot of what I did in school. I didnt think it was necessary for me personally. I didnt know what training so coming here and really meant, and learning the start of the Meisner technique, I started to realize that training was nothing that I believed it was. I really had no technique and I didnt know what I had been doing. Coming here Ive started to know how to work and I learned.

Q: What occurred during the Meisner Summer Intensive that altered your view on training?

A: I had been simply constantly looking forward to my cue and saying a line the way that it had been rehearsed by me and that I thought Id done homework on and actually I didnt even discover the way to do assignments, which will be crazy. Just thinking back to the summer, how much Ive come is astonishing and it really, truly changed my life.

Q:

A: Matters came easy for me and I was surprised to comprehend and come to the judgment that everything I had ever done was terrible and perhaps in college and high school I was among the better folks in the program and I was always cast as the lead. I was surprised to think back on those characters that Ive played and recognized that I ‘d no idea what I used to be doing. With the Meisner technique you really start to realize what its like to craft and produce a circumstance plus a nature, I didnt have a technique, I didnt discover the way to even prepare to get a role and I didnt have training and live through something. I was just so shocked and its laughable to think about the things that I did before this. Its hard for me to believe that I have been seen by people and its embarrassing to be quite frank.

This web log post and interview with Sara appeared on the studio website: http://www.maggieflaniganstudio.com/summer-intensive-program/

Leave a Reply

